National History

alpha Kappa Delta Phi was established at the University of California, Berkeley in the Fall of 1989. Four headstrong visionaries: Susan Kim, Fannie Pon, Jill Yoshimura, and Reina Yuan, initiated the concept of having an organization that would provide them, as well as other young college women, the opportunity to experience sisterhood and to promote what they felt was integral to the development of successful women. After proposing their ideas to women at the Berkeley campus, they, along with ten strong and willful fellow women, became the founding sisters of alpha Kappa Delta Phi.

Together as the charter class, they dedicated themselves to the establishment of a strong and lasting organization that would foster not only sisterhood, but scholarship, service, leadership, and Asian American awareness as well.


The founding sisters: Betty Chu, Karin Co, Susan Kim, Nancy Lee, Sherri Leung, Annie Loo, Belinda Ma, Anita Ng, Serene Ngin, Fannie Pon, Josie Sun, Daisy Wu, Jill Yoshimura, and Reina Yuan came together to share one another's goals for a promising union. These ideals were to later set the foundation and purpose of alpha Kappa Delta Phi.


The love and generosity that each member had for the organization were instrumental to the growth of alpha Kappa Delta Phi's reputation as a sorority, as well as to the forging of unbreakable friendships. In its first steps towards achieving widespread acknowledgment, the College Panhellenic Association of Berkeley, California recognized alpha Kappa Delta Phi on February 7, 1990, which is celebrated annually as National Founders' Day. The sisterhood has since then spread to prominent university campuses across the nation.

To meet the needs of the growing sisterhood, the National Board of alpha Kappa Delta Phi was established in May 1993 at the National Convention in Santa Barbara, California.



History at

San Luis Obispo


During the summer of 1995, the inspiration of alpha Kappa Delta Phi found its way into the hearts of several women at the California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo. Phoebe Malabuyo, Christine Songco, and Nikki Yee met on several occasions to discuss the possibility of establishing a new Asian-interest sorority. As the number of Asian students increased, these women realized the need to give Asian American women an opportunity to voice their own ideas.


As school began in the Fall of 1995, the group expanded to include founding sister, Sharon Wong. Together, this group of women spent many enduring months towards establishing a colony. The National Board of alpha Kappa Delta Phi granted them Charter status on Thursday, November 16, 1995. On December 5, 1995, the charter class expanded once again with two new sisters, Anh Ly and Theresa Tang. These six women bonded together to promote a lifetime of sisterhood and friendship at Cal Poly.


At the XII Annual National Convention in the Spring of 2004, we were recognized as Omicron Chapter by the National Board of alpha Kappa Delta Phi.

Our chapter here at Cal Poly was established in the Spring of 1996 by six strong women dedicated to promoting the values of sisterhood, scholarship, leadership, service, and Asian-American awareness. Now, over twenty years later, our house is stronger than ever and expanding rapidly. While we will always hold dear in our hearts the lasting tradition and strong foundation our sisters before us have established, we are only beginning another phase as the addition of more sisters bring with it many new ideas and insights.

Our Pillars